Reviews

Avg: 5.00 Stars based on 115 reviews.
Reviews Date
OUPV Near Coastal
May 7,2022
Worth every penny. I’ve spent decades around the industry but this was my first time going for my MMC.. I was initially hesitant about the cost, but Diamond Marine did not disappoint. Sam was a complete professional, providing excellent customer service throughout the entire process. His proactive approach to helping me get my paperwork and requirements complete was very helpful. He quickly returned my calls and was always available to answer any questions I had. I always felt as a customer that I was a top priority, The strong working relationship he has with the Coast Guard paid off in that I was able to get my credential much quicker than I could’ve on my own. Thanks again Diamond Marine and thanks Sam for your diligent professionalism and service!

-- Mark Willis
2022-05-07
Incredibly Helpful
May 7,2022
Sam and Diamond Marine Services made a very daunting process very organized and seamless. From start to finish, Sam guided me through every part of the application process. The communication was excellent, as was any advice he gave regarding all the pieces/parts that make up the application. I can’t thank Diamond Marine Services enough. They truly provide a worthwhile service to anyone considering applying for their Captains License..

-- Capt Doug Romano
2022-05-07
The only way to go
March 11,2022
Without Sam, I would still be dealing with the Coast Gaurd. He guided me through the whole process and made sure my application was done correctly before he sent it out. He kept me in the loop the whole way with personal phone calls and updates. Thanks Sam, I will recommend everyone considering applying for their captains credentials

-- Shant Melkonyan
2022-03-11
Towing assessment course
February 28,2022
Mr Thomas is an excellent examiner, definitely would recommend his services.

-- Michael Daniel
2022-02-28
Great Service, Great People, Highly Recommended
February 9,2022
I received more than I hoped for. Sam went far beyond my expectations. Diamond Marine communicated with USCG evaluators on my behalf and resolved issues quickly. I enjoyed the entire learning process aboard the vessels.

-- Capt Jay Hunter
2022-02-09
Invaluable credential consultation service
February 3,2022
Applying for my 100 Ton master's was a breeze since DMS took the guesswork out of the process, and also made sure my application was ready for the NMC evaluation. They caught an error in my paperwork that I never would have, which would have stalled the process with the NMC. Sam and his crew are true professionals. I can't recommend them highly enough.

-- Chris
2022-02-03
The needed service, for those of us less organized.
January 25,2022
Sam Z. Took the daunting task of all the paperwork, and seamlessly handled it. Money very well spent!!. Thanks Diamond Marine Services..

-- Dean Ronhaar
2022-01-25
Excellent service
January 21,2022
Diamond marine makes the renewal process super easy and really fast! I believe we submitted everything to the Uscg around 12-22-21 and it`s on the way to my house as of 1-21-22! That`s fast if you ask me especially being during the holidays. Just goes to show there accuracy and commitment to helping you get it done correctly the first time! Highly recommend! ( Ms river boat )

-- Zack Shivel
2022-01-21
Excellent service
January 13,2022
As a captain and owner of a boat charter business, it was so nice to have the guys from Diamond Marine Services to help our captains renew their licenses. They knew exactly what questions to ask and did a tremendous job communicating with my guys throughout the entire process. It was, without a doubt, worth every penny, and I will certainly be using them again.

-- Capt Andy
2022-01-13
Glad I used the service
December 14,2021
Glad I used this service to renew my MMC. They recommended an upgrade I was eligible for with the sea service I had already accrued and explained other options to help me upgrade that I wasn`t aware of. We renewed my MMC and I got a raise in grade i wouldn`t have known about renewing on my own.

-- Lucais Russell
2021-12-14
Would recommend to all my friends and counterparts!
December 2,2021
Sam and DMS were great. Easy to work with. Very good with communication and even responding outside of normal work days/hours.

-- Marc
2021-12-02
Great Experience
November 19,2021
Sam and his team were very courteous, knowledgeable and efficient. I took the inland TOAR in Boston Harbor and learned a great deal in vessel and tow maneuvers with Ben and Caitlin. Everyone was very skilled and friendly. I also had their credentialing service advise me in getting my application into the USCG whilst also applying for a license I didn't know I was eligible for. They can save you a lot of time and money as opposed to figuring this out by yourself.

-- Mark Paterson
2021-11-19
Awesome!
November 17,2021
Sam went above and beyond to help me get all of my paperwork filled out appropriately to obtain my 100 Ton license. The whole process went so smoothly and he answered every question I had. Thanks to diamond marine I am now holding my credential less than 3 weeks after my application was submitted. This service is worth its weight in gold! I look forward to working with them again in the future and would highly recommend them for anyone!

-- Blake Applewhite
2021-11-17
Professional, knowledgeable and efficient!
November 9,2021
Sam`s knowledge and experience pays dividends with his fast and efficient service! He thoroughly prepared and submitted my MMC renewal, and despite the delayed processing times stated on the NMC`s website, he managed to get my MMC renewed and back in hand in less than a month! Sam and his team are amazing and I highly recommend them for all your licensing needs!

-- Dennis Amador
2021-11-09
Sam pulled it off with 3 days to spare before expiration...!
November 8,2021
Sam is the best...! The organization behind Sam is the best...! I was amazed at how Sam turned around my complicated renewal and upgrade in less than 3 weeks. I highly recommend this for every aspiring Captain or renewal Captain wanting to present themselves professionally for consideration to the USCG. Your time is valuable and the normal process has become just too complicated and prone to delays. If you want effective and efficient turn around for your documents, Sam is your man...!!!

-- Keith R Clark
2021-11-08
Excellent very easy and no problems everything was handled
November 4,2021
This is worth every penny I would highly recommend it. They walk you through every detail and make it effortless. Sam was great, and made this very simple thank you again

-- Sean
2021-11-04
A+++ service
November 1,2021
Diamond marine services makes the application process a complete breeze. Sam is one of the greatest people you will deal with in the industry,

-- Luke Lucas
2021-11-01
Worth Every Penny!
October 7,2021
Sam, and his crew made what was a pretty complex and lengthy process go nice and smooth for me! Sam walked me through every step of the process and told me what to expect along the way. Returned every phone call and text almost immediately, once even from behind the wheel of a ship! Looking forward to working with you in the near future. You guy's have a great service here, keep up the great work!

-- J.Foster
2021-10-07
With Sam first time was the charm
October 6,2021
Having been in business for many years before pursuing my OUPV credential I always appreciated working with (and paying for) outside expertise that made the end result better and easier for me. That was my experience with Sam at DMS. Clean, clear communication and a bullseye on the goal. Thanks Sam and we`ll see you again at Master upgrade time!

-- Craig G Royston
2021-10-06
Excellent work on my complicated application
September 21,2021
Sam and the crew crushed it on securing my 200 Ton masters. I personally had a complicated application with deadline needs and various moving parts. They reviewed all the paperwork and caught all the mistakes before sending it out and getting it done in a very timely manner. Customer service and communication was top notch. I have been and will be recommending them to all professional mariners.

-- Gabriel Russell
2021-09-21
What a Relief!
September 18,2021
Sam's assistance in navigating the USCG and Homeland Security system of twists and turns was so worth the price. Anyone looking to obtain their MMC need look no further. This is your one stop shop for assistance. THANK YOU!

-- Doug C.
2021-09-18
Incredible
August 26,2021
I cannot thank DMS enough. They tutored me along the way, and flawlessly handled all transactions with the MMC/USCG. Couldn't have done it without them.

-- Captain Drew
2021-08-26
TOAR Assessments
August 9,2021
Had a blast doing the assessments in Boston. The tug used is a very cool old tug. I had never ran a single screw boat of any real size and I had no problems what so ever the boat handles like a dream making the assessments go very smoothly. The coolest part is the class is centered around the boat handling aspects of the TOAR. Everyone got to have their turn docking and undocking, towing on the hip through a bridge, making up a tow, landing the barge along side another barge it was a really fun and informative experience. Capt. Birk was really great to work with.

-- Cole Ward
2021-08-09
Great Experience!
August 7,2021
Sam was a pleasure to work with,. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. I am glad I found Diamond Marine Services to help me take my captain's license online exams but also process the entire US Coast Guard application. which went smoothly.. Thanks to their help, I just received my 100 GRT license in the mail today. Would recommend their services to anyone serious about getting their license quickly!

-- Newly Licensed Captain Marc
2021-08-07
A++++
July 30,2021
DMS took all the guess work out of it. Getting it right the first time was so worth it and made for a smooth process.

-- Craig
2021-07-30
Great service and communication.
July 12,2021
The application process can be confusing but Sam makes it very easy. Diamond marine is there for help and to answer questions every step of the way. Thanks so much Sam and Diamond.

-- Captain Craig Frerichs
2021-07-12
Filed my paperwork
July 11,2021
Great people filed my paperwork fast and got my oupv quick from the coast guard I`d highly recommend them thanks guys

-- Captain Steve
2021-07-11
June 23,2021
Excellent service. Highly recommend.

--
2021-06-23
Master`s License Renewal
June 14,2021
After 50 years in the marine industry, this was the smoothest application process I`ve been through. I`m already passing the word to others in my industry. It was three weeks from application to approval. I highly recommend this service.

-- Captain Brian Styke
2021-06-14
A Big Thanks in appreciation of the service and assistance.
June 3,2021
A special Thanks to Sam, Give my Aloha and thank you Sam I your assistance of my MMC Credential License and another Special Thanks to Neil Smith of refer to Daimondmarineservices , lm very appropriative and expertise in the service. I would highly recommend and 5-star rate.

-- Captain Jerry K Kaehu
2021-06-03
The easiest and the best
June 3,2021
Used Diamond Marine Services to get my OUPV and they were there all the. way. Sam made the whole process almost to easy. They are the best and highly recomend them.

-- Allen Bedsole
2021-06-03
Thank you Sam
May 26,2021
Wonderful experience! Sam gets the job done!

-- Tyler Putney
2021-05-26
Thanks for the help!
May 26,2021
Sam knows the USCG credential system inside and out! He is a great resource for easing the pain of license renewals. Highly recommend!

-- Michael Buelsing
2021-05-26
Captain's License Renewal Exam and Assistance on Completing the Administrative Process
May 3,2021
Sam was exceedingly helpful with the mechanics of the Final Exam (and very patient, I would add, as I struggled with the connectivity of my devices to the web-site). Sam also assisted in helping me complete the USCG request for additional information as we completed the Renewal process...successfully I must add. I strongly recommend using DMS to help any mariner through this government process. It became painless and actually easy to complete. Ed

-- Ed Sterbenc
2021-05-03
Master of Towing Endorsement
April 14,2021
I recently took the TOAR course for my Master of Towing Endorsement. I had issues with the NMC and Diamond Marine stepped in and handled everything. I told them the problem I was having and they took over. It was so stress free, and easy. They definitely went above and beyond!

-- Peter Kaple
2021-04-14
OUPV
April 12,2021
100 Stars service Thank You

-- Sammy
2021-04-12
Seamless 100T master/200T mate with original credential
April 12,2021
Sam was phenomenal, both as a proctor and consultant. He made a crazy cross-link in technology and meeting software that streamlined the 2-camera online proctoring process and gave the perfect advice for the next steps. Deciphering USCG protocol is like being lost in a labyrinth without a clue, Sam gave me a compass and a map! 100% recommend Diamond Marine and US Captain's Training!

-- Allison Stone
2021-04-12
Professional /Quality /Service
April 6,2021
Renewals are not usually fun & easy, However after my experience with Diamond Marine Services that may change!!! Sam caught an error on my physical form for my medical certificate. If it wasn`t for his professional knowledge & hard work I would of still been trying to deal with the Coast Guard & prob be missing work. I highly recommend using there services!!!

-- Jonathan A
2021-04-06
Renewal time
April 3,2021
We all have done are own renewals at some time and what a hassle it can be.With Sam and Diamond Marine Service it just goes so much smoother and he knows what needs to be done next.Do yourself a favor and sign up I guarantee you won`t regret it!!. Captain Bruce G

-- Bruce Greenwood
2021-04-03
Simple, Quick and Easy. MMC 100 ton
March 24,2021
Nobody likes to do the packets of paperwork needed for your renewal. Check marks, do I need, converting documents and paying the government. Diamond Marine Services is able to walk you through the process with professional knowledge. Don't worry about faxing or scanning. That's old school. They are able to get the Coast Guard your documents in seconds. Emails and questions are answered quickly. Filed paperwork on Feb 11th, credentials approved Mar 24th. Thanks for your help.

-- James Bishop
2021-03-24
Simplified the System
March 19,2021
Dealing with the Coast Guard has become difficult and time consuming. I am not always able to have Internet access while on the job. Since I began working with Diamond Marine Services, I don`t have to worry about missing an email from the Coast Guard or having my credentials delayed because I overlooked something in the paperwork. They have simplified the system for me and I recommend them to anyone in our career field.

-- Michael Wood
2021-03-19
Patience and explanation
February 12,2021
I highly recommend this class. My instructors were Sam and Birk. What both instructors are good at is 2 very important things in particular: They're experienced Captains AND they're good teachers and that's what you want in an instructor, someone who not only knows the material but has the patience to explain why a maneuver or something else will or will not work. Another great thing is these guys are going to let you drive and get your hands dirty. Great job guys.

-- Aaron V Burnett
2021-02-12
1600 ton Master/10000 Tom OSV/Master of Towing Oceans
January 22,2021
Can`t say enough about these guys. Affordable, easy to work with, Professional!!! They simply take away all the hassle! Snap, click, send! It really was that easy. Oh! And they monitor your renewals. Just forget about it. You get notified.

-- James Roberts
2021-01-22
with the instructor going over the tricks of the trade on how to best complete them safely. Nothing in the class is simulated
January 8,2021
I came to Diamond Marine to get my TOAR completed, and walked away with a Master of Towing. There were many challenges, but what I appreciated was Sam`s patient solution oriented mentality. He solved every obstacle with speed and and accuracy. He even gave additional advise in regards to submitting my application. I would recommend this course for anyone who wants to get their Mate or Master of Towing.

-- Captain Ta`Von Davis
2021-01-08
5 Stars to the Second Power
January 2,2021
My overall experience with Diamond Marine Services and their affiliated partners was perfect ! Sam went out of his way on several occasions to not only answer complex licensing questions but ensure that the licensing process was stress free. The TOAR course was fantastic, filled with lots of hands-on practical assessments. The entire crew at Diamond Marine Services were extremely knowledgeable, polite, and professional. I would strongly recommend Diamond Marine services for all of you licensing needs.

-- John William
2021-01-02
Awesome class
December 20,2020
This was a great class with plenty of opportunities to ask questions and to get amazing hands on experience. Sam and Birk were great to work with and made the whole process seamless. Their commitment to their customers doesn't just end with the TOAR Class, they are more then willing to answer any questions that someone might have about licensing and the confusing process that come with working with the USCG. I will absolutely be recommending this class/their services to anyone that needs it.

-- Matt Cannon
2020-12-20
Best place for TOAR Assessment
November 21,2020
If you`re looking to get your TOAR, Diamond Marine Services will take care of you from beginning to end and even after. DMS is operated and owned by exceptionally competent, experienced, and qualified Mariners that offer training and consultation services. From first contact, they will make the whole process clear and simple. What you get is a professional, patient, and thorough assessment. The TOAR assessment is conducted in an ideal location that is conveniently and easily accessible with lodging accommodations close by. So if you need help with your TOAR or consultation on charting your own path the through the maritime industry, I would definitely recommend checking them out.

-- Tom
2020-11-21
Professional and Helpful
November 3,2020
So glad about hiring Diamond Marine to help me obtain my TOAR certification. Sam is super knowledgeable about the Maritime business and very helpful with any questions you throw at him. Captain Birk and the crew were just as professional, informative, and took the time to thoroughly train us. Five stars from me.

-- Jimmy
2020-11-03
MMC Original- During Pandemic
September 26,2020
Sam and the Diamond Marine Services crew were very patient, professional and helpful throughout the whole process. They were always available for questions and advise. Highly recommended!

-- Xavier B
2020-09-26
Great Customer Service
September 18,2020
I took the TOAR class with Diamond and I recommend it to all my friends. It was a great class, and the customer service Diamond delivers walking you through the licensing process is above and beyond. 5/5 would use Diamond for classes and credential counseling and I already recommend it to my friends.

-- Liam
2020-09-18
Amazing Experience
September 16,2020
Sam, along with everyone at Diamond Marine Services have really put together a great program. They are some of the most helpful people I`ve met and are very professional and hands-on throughout the entire process. If you are in need of some help I highly recommend Diamond Marine Services!

-- Kyle Salles
2020-09-16
TOAR Assessment/Endorsement
September 3,2020
Exceedingly professional and accommodating. Sam was so personable and helpful. All questions I had were clarified. I strongly recommend this service.

-- Maura
2020-09-03
TOAR training
August 25,2020
Great training! Hands-on experience with driving tug, making-up lines, and doing approaches. Sam is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic! He's eager to teach and provided great guidance along with quizzing and testing his students. I very much would recommend this course for those seeking to obtain their TOAR cert.

-- John Smith
2020-08-25
TOAR class
August 19,2020
The TOAR class aboard the tug in Boston Harbor was extremely hands on and helpful. This is a great way to get time on a tug in a low pressure and professional atmosphere. I would recommend this class to any mariner who`s interested in getting their foot in the door in this industry.

-- William Joseph Smith IV
2020-08-19
Great class
July 27,2020
It was a great class. Highly recommend.

-- Liam Hynes
2020-07-27
Professional, Fast, and stress free license consulting!
July 22,2020
Brandon and Sam are both top notch consultants. They have helped me through the entire coast guard licensing process.

-- Luke Lucas
2020-07-22
USCG License Renewal
July 11,2020
I am on my 8th renewal for my USCG License and normally I would do all the paperwork myself but with all the changes of staff and paperwork I decided to reach out to Diamond Marine Services and now I am glad that I did because the people doing the paperwork at NMC are not really up to speed anymore like they use to be so I had a few set backs because they kept asking for more and more documents but Sam was able to Liaison for me and this sped up the process. I would highly recommend using this service for anything to do with any License. Sam replied back to me on every query that I had and saved me a lot of time and headache since I was overseas trying to do this. Thanks for your professionalism and it is nice to find a company so qualified and also has the License/Skill and Knowledge to get things done.

-- Lewis Alongis
2020-07-11
Totally worth it!
July 7,2020
The class started right on time with the captain ready to go. We got onto the tug and quickly jumped right into learning about how the boat operated without a barge made up to it. We then went through several tasks to make up a barge and later operated with and without the barge made up. The captain was kind and helpful through every step of the process and the deck hand was a pleasure to work with. This was my first time ever being in the position to operate a tug and barge and I was nothing but comfortable and confident with the instructions given to me. Overall this is an amazing class and would recommend it to anyone looking to complete their endorsement requirements.

-- Paul Rodriguez
2020-07-07
Stellar
June 9,2020
These folks get excited about the stuff that most of us dread. Needed a very quick turn around on a license renewal and they really delivered, and got me an upgrade that I wasn`t expecting. Friendly, personable, and definitely my first call next time I`m up for a renewal.

-- Ben
2020-06-09
Excellent customer service
April 23,2020
I called Sam about completing a TOAR and he took care of me and made it happen. Got to the boat and Ben was just an excellent teacher and made sure I knew his expectations and we made it happen. Thanks guys I really appreciate it!

-- Jon Plake
2020-04-23
High recommendation
April 11,2020
If you need a TOAR, call Diamond. I was in a pinch and needed to get this done ASAP. I called them up on a Wednesday morning and was on a plane a few hours later, headed to Boston. My class was scheduled for the very next day, Thursday, in Boston Harbor. I have nothing but positive things to say about them. Extremely accommodating. The assessments were explained clearly and concisely and executed under expert tutelage and I had an email in my email box with the completed assessment form before I even got out of the Uber to the hotel. ... which, by the way, was another amazing experience. They recommend the Mariner House and I second this recommendation. All in all, extremely positive experience. Don`t hesitate to call Diamond if you need to get this done.

-- Ryan D
2020-04-11
Toar
March 9,2020
Great class great DE VERY SIMPLE PROCESS AND LOCATION. THANKS FOR EVERTHING

-- Derick wilson
2020-03-09
License Renewal and Credentialing help
January 10,2020
Can't say enough good things here! The folks at DMS were a huge help in my recent license renewal. Sam helped me navigate the complex rules to make sure I recieved my new MMC on time and more importantly without any holdups from the NMC due to lack of or incorrect information from my end. An absolute pleasure and would highly recommend their service to any Mariner looking to submit for any type of paperwork with the NMC and USCG. Thanks guys!

-- Matthew Perricone
2020-01-10
TOAR Class
January 8,2020
The class was very informative and pretty fun. Captain Birk is very patient and a wealth of information. The tug is very maneuverable and offers a good learning platform. Sam is quick to answer any questions from email or phone and the logistics getting to and from the class is great as well. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks!

-- Andrew Torti
2020-01-08
Best TOAR Training Course
December 12,2019
I took this class as a means of fast tracking my TOAR approval and it was well worth it. I was able to complete the course in under 8 hours as my group were all well prepared for the material. It was all hands on, and in Boston harbor so you get a fairly busy port to practice in. Ben was great, Sam knows his stuff, and all in all just a great day in Boston. Thanks Sam!

-- Drew Steiger
2019-12-12
TOAR Class
December 11,2019
I had the pleasure of taking the TOAR class with Diamond Marine Services. It was very easy to sign up for. All the information you need prior to the class is emailed to you. Sam is very helpful if you have any questions. It was very nice to be able to get all the assessments done within one day and have your TOAR, ready to send it within an hour of the class ending. Captain Ben is very knowledgeable and a great instructor. I highly recommend this class to anyone interested in obtaining their TOAR.

-- Alec Frizzell
2019-12-11
License renewal and upgrade
November 1,2019
The speed, knowledge and attention to detail were very impressive. Adding in how simple the whole process was made, I will certainly be a repeat customer, have sent numerous people and will continue to do so.

-- Michael Abegg
2019-11-01
Full Speed Ahead
October 20,2019
This is the 5th time I have renewed my license, and by far, it has been the easiest and most streamlined process I have ever experienced. These guys know what they are doing! Upon submittal of my massive stack of paperwork, review/error trapping by the DMS team, my renewal process was underway. I received my new MMD in 17 days!!! If you want your renewal/upgrade/new endorsement process done right, look no further. I will be sharing my experience with my co-workers, and I highly recommend to any mariner, well seasoned or green, to check these guys out. You will not be disappointed in the service they provide.

-- Christian George
2019-10-20
Great credential service!
July 24,2019
They made the whole process of submitting my new credentials very easy and painless.

-- Vincent Storino
2019-07-24
TOAR Assessment Class
July 24,2019
Diamond Marine Services provided an excellent service to me as I completed there TOAR assessment class. They made it very painless as they assisted me with submitting my new credentials to the coast guard. Would highly recommend.

-- Vincent S
2019-07-24
The best
June 9,2019
These guys are the best went above and beyond to help upgrade trust it was no easy task but thru their help all went well I highly recommend them them !

-- Capt.Lamas
2019-06-09
5 star operation
May 31,2019
The TOAR class was better than expected. Great logistics, great DE, the whole operation is smooth and a pleasure to deal with. Keep up the great work!

-- Shawn
2019-05-31
Fantastic credentialing service!
May 28,2019
It was a delight to work with you guys; prompt, professional and the perfect antidote to all the bureaucracy! Thanks......

-- Peter
2019-05-28
Best credentialing service I have used. A+ effort. 100% Recommended
April 16,2019
I recently used Diamonds services for an upgrade on my Credential. After completing the initial inquiry, I was contacted within the hour by a member of their team. The entire process from start to finish was very fast and effective. Diamond took the time to review, and answer any question I had. They calculated my sea time, and provided me with all the documentation I was required to submit. Their attention to detail was crucial for my application, and knew to ask for endorsements I was unaware I qualified for. After receiving my new Credential, Diamond still took the time to answer questions regarding STCW, and provided information on future changes and qualifications. With constantly changing requirements, I will be using Diamonds services for all my future Credentialing needs.

-- Patrick
2019-04-16
TOAR assessments
April 8,2019
Birk Thomas led the class at Boston Line in Boston Mass. Birk was very helpful in guiding the class through the assessments but also shared his own personal experience as well as personal preferred operating strategy for each corresponding assessment. The windy conditions gave a good learning experience to go along with the evaluations. The Eileen C was also a good vessel to assess on as it`s single screw and ran well, and allowed for good visibility to working gear and crew.

-- Nate Dibble
2019-04-08
Excellent Program
April 5,2019
The Captains and staff at Diamond Marine Services are all experienced and professional mariners that are willing to help you in any way. I have never had a more enjoyable assessment experience. The Captain and Crew are extremely knowledgeable and are willing to help you and teach you along the way. I would highly recommend Diamond Marine Services for anyone looking to get their TOAR. Thank You!

-- Spencer Hull
2019-04-05
Fast and effective
April 2,2019
Submitted my credentials on a Sunday and it was sent to the USCG by Monday evening. I will never be applying for any upgrade or modification on my MMC without this service again. Well worth it.

-- Doug
2019-04-02
TOAR
March 20,2019
Solid program for anyone looking to get there endorsement. Captains and crew members are very knowledgeable and experienced. Willing to help you and offer advise at any experience level! Cool lads, glad I went with Diamond.

-- Brandon
2019-03-20
These guys are great!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
March 17,2019
I was having a really difficult time getting hired on tugs nationwide. I graduated with a 3/m unlimited license but never got any towing experience. Everyone I spoke to about a job wanted new hires to have a TOAR already. By the time I finally got hired, I had to start with AB wages. I found out about this TOAR class in NY and gave Sam a call. I took the class and got everything I needed for the Coast guard endorsement. Diamond Marine Services made the process a breeze, everyone was helpful, professional, and extremely knowledgeable. This class has paid for itself OVER AND OVER, I got a pay increase for getting the endorsement immediately. Sam is a great guy, he will help you get what you need. Give DMS a call!!!

-- Eric Roublick
2019-03-17
These guys are great!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
March 17,2019
I was having a really difficult time getting hired on tugs nationwide. I graduated with a 3/m unlimited license but never got any towing experience. Everyone I spoke to about a job wanted new hires to have a TOAR already. By the time I finally got hired, I had to start with AB wages. I found out about this TOAR class in NY and gave Sam a call. I took the class and got everything I needed for the Coast guard endorsement. Diamond Marine Services made the process a breeze, everyone was helpful, professional, and extremely knowledgeable. This class has paid for itself OVER AND OVER, I got a pay increase for getting the endorsement immediately. Sam is a great guy, he will help you get what you need. Give DMS a call!!!

-- Eric Roublick
2019-03-17
Great experience!
October 22,2018
Diamond Marine Services will get you informed and taught on all aspects of towing/pushing operations, and will do it in a quick and efficient manner. I recommend the class for anyone wishing to acquire their TOAR.

-- Jonny Allen
2018-10-22
Highly Recommended
February 23,2018
I highly recommend this course for anyone who is trying to attain their towing endorsement and get some experience behind the wheel. In some instances it`s just not practical or possible to finish your assessments at work and Diamond Marine rises to the occasion to meet that demand in our industry. Their staff is knowledgeable and friendly. There are few courses I`ve taken where I can walk away and say, in all honesty that I enjoyed it as well as leave with knowledgeable and prepared for the real thing. Thank you!

-- Matthew Morse
2018-02-23
Much thanks to DMS
September 8,2017
Many thanks to Birk, Matt, Sam, and the CORNELL Crew for a great day of instruction, discussion, and assessment on the water. I cannot say enough good about this avenue for completion of the TOAR and the great work of the entire Diamond Marine Services group. BZ! Well Done.

-- Chris
2017-09-08
Excellent
May 17,2017
The class was great. I learned a lot in a short period of time. Thanks to the entire team at diamond marine services.

-- Landon Malcolm
2017-05-17
Thanks!
February 28,2017
These guys are great! You`ll learn more and get more practical assessments signed off in one day than I can recall from any other training. I`m a blue water sailor so it was nice to get a taste of what tugs do and how they handle. Highly recommend this class to anyone needed their TOAR cert or just what some exposure.

-- Kevin Coleman
2017-02-28
I will surely recommend this course to my shipmates
January 21,2017
The class and practical are full of information that all mariners in this route needs to know . The instructors are very skillful and supportive .

-- Cyrelle
2017-01-21
Two thumbs up!
December 2,2016
I originally signed up for a course and then was stuck on a tug at work and had to reschedule. Sam was unbelievably helpful and made it so easy to reschedule. These guys bend over backwards to help you succeed! They are also super great mariners and the tug Cornell is a treat to be on and worth the price alone.

-- Todd Schwartz
2016-12-02
Two thumbs up!
December 2,2016
I originally signed up for a course and then was stuck on a tug at work and had to reschedule. Sam was unbelievably helpful and made it so easy to reschedule. These guys bend over backwards to help you succeed! They are also super great mariners and the tug Cornell is a treat to be on and worth the price alone.

-- Todd Schwartz
2016-12-02
Great people, great experience! A ton of knowledge. I would recommend Diamond Marine Services to anyone. Two big thumbs up!
April 6,2016
Great people, great experience! A ton of knowledge. I would recommend Diamond Marine Services to anyone. Two big thumbs up!

-- Joseph Bethel
2016-04-06
I would highly recommend Diamond Marine Services to any mariner looking to advance in the towing industry.
March 10,2016
I attended the Diamond Marine Services TOAR class in Kingston, NY on 1/1/16. The entire crew was very polite and professional. The DE was extremely knowledgeable and took time to explain the entire process step-by-step to each student. From the initial booking of the class, to stepping off the tug, there was constant communication. The only thing I would have done different is attend this class sooner!

-- Jake Van Reenen, Seaway Marine Group
2016-03-10
I would highly recommend Diamond Marine Services to any mariner looking to advance in the towing industry.
March 10,2016
I attended the Diamond Marine Services TOAR class in Kingston, NY on 1/1/16. The entire crew was very polite and professional. The DE was extremely knowledgeable and took time to explain the entire process step-by-step to each student. From the initial booking of the class, to stepping off the tug, there was constant communication. The only thing I would have done different is attend this class sooner!

-- Jake Van Reenen, Seaway Marine Group
2016-03-10
Great Class. Learned more then I expected, And the Crew was very helpful.
February 9,2016
Great Class. Learned more then I expected, And the Crew was very helpful.

-- Shane
2016-02-09
this class was a great refresher to many things learned a long time ago
October 28,2015
As an experienced captain on offshore supply vessels, and 25 years since training on tugs, this class was a great refresher to many things learned a long time ago. Was questioning if I should have taken the course, and at the end of the day , found it was well worth it!! Thanks Capt. Pat, Matt and Paul!

-- Capt Fred
2015-10-28
Can't say enough positive things about the entire experience.
October 27,2015
Capt. Pat was very professional, excellent instructor. Highly recommend. Boat Owner Matt. Also great and helpful. Paul was quite, but efficient. Can't say enough positive things about the entire experience. My suggestion is don't wait another minute, sign up ASAP. You will never regret this. Guaranteed!!!

-- Eric
2015-10-27
As many of you know trying to get a completed TOAR can be difficult.
August 20,2015
The class was informative, reasonably priced and it was great to find a place to complete my TOAR. The crew was great and it was nice to get the hands on experience. Thanks for the providing this class.

-- Capt. Mike
2015-08-20
A TOAR class like this is rare to come by (trust me I looked) especially at this price
August 19,2015
Great class. Couldn't get the hands on experience like that anywhere else. The instructors really know what they are doing and willingly offer advice and tricks to get around different situations. Highly recommend to anyone who needs to get their TOAR.

-- Matt
2015-08-19
No substitute for hands on learning
August 6,2015
I just finished the TOAR and I can tell you that the quality of experience was greater than my expectations. The tug Cornell was the most user friendly piece of floating machinery I ever driven. The instructor, Capt Pat, blew me away with his knowledge and teaching method employed. Honestly , there is no substitute for hands on learning. You can spend your money on expensive boring classes, and you will never know how maneuver a tug . Cut your loses and call Diamond Marine!! Overall I rate this experience 10 out of 10 possible. Thank you Diamond Marine!

-- Adrian Puenary
2015-08-06
Great Value!
July 30,2015
The entire Crew at Diamond Services, were more than helpful, and accommodating, the TOAR experience was of great Value! Thank you

-- Greg Pavlich
2015-07-30
I just received an email from the NMC telling me my credential has been issued.
July 30,2015
My concerns before paying for this class were whether or not these guys were legit and whether or not the NMC would issue me an MOT based on the TOAR I received at Diamond Marine. Well, I just received an email from the NMC telling me my credential has been issued. Woohoo! So yeah these guys are legit and the NMC did issue me an MOT using Diamond Marine's TOAR. Money well spent. Thank you Diamond Marine.

-- Victor Antunez
2015-07-30
Money well Spent!
June 8,2015
Money well Spent! Sam and Matt made this very fun and informative. The old tug Cornell is awesome. Handles great. I had a good time and a very solid intro to the basics of tug operations. I'm excited about crossing over into the towing industry. Thanks guys for this unique opportunity to acquire the credentials to advance my career.

-- Todd
2015-06-08
Great organization and great people.
May 25,2015
I cannot say enough positive things about Diamond Marine. Sam, Matt, and the crew went out of their way and worked long hours to help me get my TOAR signed off. They worked with my schedule to help me get what I needed before I went offshore again. Excellent customer service. I was very impressed with every aspect of their organization. If you want to get a TOAR, I would highly recommend them. Thank you Sam, Matt, and crew!

-- Brad
2015-05-25
I wouldn't be where I am today without their help.
May 4,2015
I graduated from a maritime academy and wanted to pursue a career on harbor tugs. However, with only 20 days of time on a towing vessel and no TOAR I was having a difficult time finding a job. Once I completed my TOAR with Sam I was immediately hired by a harbor tug company in the gulf. A few years later as a mate on a brand new z-drive boat I can't thank Sam, Matt and Paul enough. They are great guys who run a professional and very convenient operation that allows Mariners to advance their careers. I wouldn't be where I am today without their help.

-- Lucas Beyl
2015-05-04
Great experience!
April 27,2015
I enjoyed my class, on the Cornell. Matt, and Brody, were professional, quick, and got the job done. If you like old boats, this is it. That old 16 cylinder Cleveland engine, is totally cool. Wish I had more time to sight see around Kingston. There is some great history there.

-- Steve
2015-04-27
The class was great!
April 27,2015
I was a little hesitant in the beginning but the Cornell handled so well that all that was gone in the first two minutes at the wheel!

-- Michael G
2015-04-27
The course was very good and total hands on.
April 27,2015
I was never so pleased to get this class with Diamond marine. Sam, Matt and the crew were great. The course was very good and total hands on. From the beginning to the end. The captains have a lot of patience and knowledge. The crew was was helpfull and the experience was great. If you are trying to get your towing endorsement call Sam and he will take care of you guys.

-- Cooper Hayden
2015-04-27
Thanks again for your crew and staff
April 24,2015
Great instructions and equipment looking forward to learning more about a field of tugs thanks again for your crew and staff

-- Andy
2015-04-24
have been recommending the class to everyone
March 18,2015
I took the TOAR class back on October 16th, 2014. It was a great class! I learned a lot and had a lot of fun. The DE was great, and so was the vessel! I have been recommending the class to everyone. This is by far the most convenient way to get your TOAR signed off!

-- Charles
2015-03-18
Well worth it!
January 22,2015
I had heard that Diamond Marine Services' TOAR class was a convenient and thorough way to get my Towing Endorsement and I was not disappointed. Each member in my particular class received individual attention and I could not have been happier with my experience. Well worth it!

-- Peter
2015-01-22
This class was well worth the time, the effort and the money but getting it done in one day, is priceless.
November 20,2014
Getting firsthand experience docking, hooking and recovering a barge Diamond Marine Services is the best option for the money. Thank you to Captain Pat for his time and patience conveying his knowledge to those who want and needed this to advance in tugboat industry. Thank you to Paul and Matt, who secured the lines on the coldest November day and never complained. This class was well worth the time, the effort and the money but getting it done in one day, is priceless.

-- Ed Duffy
2014-11-20
Diamond Marine is hands down one of the best operations I have dealt with in my career.
October 24,2014
Diamond Marine is hands down one of the best operations I have dealt with in my career. I HIGHLY recommend this class to anyone needing to complete a TOAR. Sam and Matt are absolute professionals and CORNELL is an outstanding training platform. Diamond Marine was early to answer an emergent need in an industry that was unprepared to deal with the TOAR regulations. This program is perfect for anyone with tug experience but with a lack of access to a DE. It is also perfect for any company looking to bring new talent to the wheelhouse of their boats. The structured training environment allows for totally focused evaluation of potential mates without putting additional strain on a crew and company equipment. Also, for operations that don't often tow in all modes (as is required on a full TOAR), Diamond's program allows for all three modes (towing, pushing, and hipped up) to be utilized and transitioned between in a single day of operation. Master, AGT (Oceans), MOTV, First Class Pilot

-- John Kinlein
2014-10-24
I seriously recommend this class to anyone having difficulty getting their TOAR completed
October 22,2014
I seriously recommend this class to anyone having difficulty getting their TOAR completed. It is a great learning experience, as well as a great opportunity for people looking to advance within the towing industry. The crew and examiner were all goods guys with lots of towing experience. They work well with people of all different skill levels and job experience. They will spend as much time as is needed on each exercise by each individual. I'm really glad I took this class, and in my opinion the price is very very reasonable for what they offer. Plus the tug is really cool. It's an old school single screw tug, so anyone who has a soft spot for tugs will really appreciate the boat.

-- Mike
2014-10-22
Got my Master of Towing. Thank you DMS!
October 15,2014
I took the TOAR class in September of 2011. Diamond Marine Services allowed me to complete an inland TOAR separately from the other mariners in the class who were completing their Oceans TOAR (because the inland option was the only one applicable to my license). I enjoyed my day aboard the Cornell and the professionalism shown to me by Capt. Patrick. I have recently renewed my license and my MMC now states Master of Towing Vessels upon it. I was recently promoted to steersman and I am working/training aboard an 8,400 HP towboat pushing 30 to 40 barges at a time up and down the Mississippi River. I couldn't get where I am today without working hard and proving myself to the company, but I do believe that Diamond Marine Services and my completed TOAR gave me a competitive advantage. Thank you! Sincerely, Adam Taylor 500 Ton Master Master of Tow"

-- Adam Taylor
2014-10-15
I can't begin to thank Diamond Marine enough
October 13,2014
I can't begin to thank Diamond Marine enough. They went out of their way to be accommodating in so many ways. Thumbs up for an extraordinary group of people!

-- John Bryan
2014-10-13
Came out of an academy. The experience was great!
October 8,2014
Came out of an academy, though no longer cared for the time away doing deep-sea. Started up towing in Alaska and even though I had enough time in, neither Captain on the vessel was a DE. Don't recall where I heard of Diamond Marine, but Sam and Matt on the Cornell were key in helping me get my TOAR. Went on to Master of Towing. Though I'm no longer working on tugs, the time and experience was well spent and enjoyed. Thank you, -Joshua

-- Joshua
2014-10-08
Diamond Marine does an amazing job
October 8,2014
I worked on tugs for over 2 years as a deckhand while having a 500grt license hoping to get my TOAR signed by the Capt. and move up to the wheel house. While I had most parts signed up by the Capt., the schedule of a very busy tug made it very difficult if not impossible for me to get the maneuvering part of the TOAR signed. I couldn't get my TOAR and was stuck on deck. I was doing some research on the Net and came along Diamond Marine and the TOAR class. Diamond Marine does an amazing job at helping the mariner move ahead. The instructors are seasoned tug boat captains and are also very good and patient teachers (which are two different things that rarely come together). You'll go through all the exercises required for the TOAR and if you can do it you'll be signed off. End of story. So thank you Diamond Marine!. You helped me to make it happen. I have a mate job now. -Eric

-- Eric
2014-10-08

Wanna say some nice things about us? Please submit a review....we really appreciate it!!