Reviews

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 90 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

have been recommending the class to everyone

Rated 5 out of 5
March 18, 2015

I took the TOAR class back on October 16th, 2014. It was a great class! I learned a lot and had a lot of fun. The DE was great, and so was the vessel! I have been recommending the class to everyone. This is by far the most convenient way to get your TOAR signed off!

Charles

Well worth it!

Rated 5 out of 5
January 22, 2015

I had heard that Diamond Marine Services’ TOAR class was a convenient and thorough way to get my Towing Endorsement and I was not disappointed. Each member in my particular class received individual attention and I could not have been happier with my experience. Well worth it!

Peter

This class was well worth the time, the effort and the money but getting it done in one day, is priceless.

Rated 5 out of 5
November 20, 2014

Getting firsthand experience docking, hooking and recovering a barge Diamond Marine Services is the best option for the money. Thank you to Captain Pat for his time and patience conveying his knowledge to those who want and needed this to advance in tugboat industry. Thank you to Paul and Matt, who secured the lines on the coldest November day and never complained. This class was well worth the time, the effort and the money but getting it done in one day, is priceless.

Ed Duffy

Diamond Marine is hands down one of the best operations I have dealt with in my career.

Rated 5 out of 5
October 24, 2014

Diamond Marine is hands down one of the best operations I have dealt with in my career. I HIGHLY recommend this class to anyone needing to complete a TOAR. Sam and Matt are absolute professionals and CORNELL is an outstanding training platform. Diamond Marine was early to answer an emergent need in an industry that was unprepared to deal with the TOAR regulations. This program is perfect for anyone with tug experience but with a lack of access to a DE. It is also perfect for any company looking to bring new talent to the wheelhouse of their boats. The structured training environment allows for totally focused evaluation of potential mates without putting additional strain on a crew and company equipment. Also, for operations that don’t often tow in all modes (as is required on a full TOAR), Diamond’s program allows for all three modes (towing, pushing, and hipped up) to be utilized and transitioned between in a single day of operation.
Master, AGT (Oceans), MOTV, First Class Pilot

John Kinlein

I seriously recommend this class to anyone having difficulty getting their TOAR completed

Rated 5 out of 5
October 22, 2014

I seriously recommend this class to anyone having difficulty getting their TOAR completed. It is a great learning experience, as well as a great opportunity for people looking to advance within the towing industry. The crew and examiner were all goods guys with lots of towing experience. They work well with people of all different skill levels and job experience. They will spend as much time as is needed on each exercise by each individual. I’m really glad I took this class, and in my opinion the price is very very reasonable for what they offer. Plus the tug is really cool. It’s an old school single screw tug, so anyone who has a soft spot for tugs will really appreciate the boat.

Mike

Got my Master of Towing. Thank you DMS!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 15, 2014

“I took the TOAR class in September of 2011. Diamond Marine Services allowed me to complete an inland TOAR separately from the other mariners in the class who were completing their Oceans TOAR (because the inland option was the only one applicable to my license). I enjoyed my day aboard the Cornell and the professionalism shown to me by Capt. Patrick. I have recently renewed my license and my MMC now states Master of Towing Vessels upon it. I was recently promoted to steersman and I am working/training aboard an 8,400 HP towboat pushing 30 to 40 barges at a time up and down the Mississippi River. I couldn’t get where I am today without working hard and proving myself to the company, but I do believe that Diamond Marine Services and my completed TOAR gave me a competitive advantage. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Adam Taylor
500 Ton Master
Master of Tow

Adam Taylor

I can't begin to thank Diamond Marine enough

Rated 5 out of 5
October 13, 2014

I can’t begin to thank Diamond Marine enough. They went out of their way to be accommodating in so many ways. Thumbs up for an extraordinary group of people!

John Bryan

Came out of an academy. The experience was great!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 8, 2014

Came out of an academy, though no longer cared for the time away doing deep-sea. Started up towing in Alaska and even though I had enough time in, neither Captain on the vessel was a DE. Don’t recall where I heard of Diamond Marine, but Sam and Matt on the Cornell were key in helping me get my TOAR. Went on to Master of Towing.
Though I’m no longer working on tugs, the time and experience was well spent and enjoyed.
Thank you,
-Joshua

Joshua

Diamond Marine does an amazing job

Rated 5 out of 5
October 8, 2014

I worked on tugs for over 2 years as a deckhand while having a 500grt license hoping to get my TOAR signed by the Capt. and move up to the wheel house.
While I had most parts signed up by the Capt., the schedule of a very busy tug made it very difficult if not impossible for me to get the maneuvering part of the TOAR signed. I couldn’t get my TOAR and was stuck on deck.
I was doing some research on the Net and came along Diamond Marine and the TOAR class.
Diamond Marine does an amazing job at helping the mariner move ahead. The instructors are seasoned tug boat captains and are also very good and patient teachers (which are two different things that rarely come together). You’ll go through all the exercises required for the TOAR and if you can do it you’ll be signed off. End of story.
So thank you Diamond Marine!. You helped me to make it happen. I have a mate job now.
-Eric”

Eric

I just received an email from the NMC telling me my credential has been issued.

Rated 5 out of 5
July 30, 0201

My concerns before paying for this class were whether or not these guys were legit and whether or not the NMC would issue me an MOT based on the TOAR I received at Diamond Marine. Well, I just received an email from the NMC telling me my credential has been issued. Woohoo! So yeah these guys are legit and the NMC did issue me an MOT using Diamond Marine’s TOAR. Money well spent. Thank you Diamond Marine.

Victor Antunez

Wanna say some nice things about us? Please submit a review…we really appreciate it!!