Reviews

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 86 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Great people, great experience! A ton of knowledge. I would recommend Diamond Marine Services to anyone. Two big thumbs up!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 6, 2016

Great people, great experience! A ton of knowledge. I would recommend Diamond Marine Services to anyone. Two big thumbs up!

Joseph Bethel

I would highly recommend Diamond Marine Services to any mariner looking to advance in the towing industry.

Rated 5 out of 5
March 10, 2016

I attended the Diamond Marine Services TOAR class in Kingston, NY on 1/1/16. The entire crew was very polite and professional. The DE was extremely knowledgeable and took time to explain the entire process step-by-step to each student. From the initial booking of the class, to stepping off the tug, there was constant communication. The only thing I would have done different is attend this class sooner!

Jake Van Reenen, Seaway Marine Group

Great Class. Learned more then I expected, And the Crew was very helpful.

Rated 5 out of 5
February 9, 2016

Great Class. Learned more then I expected, And the Crew was very helpful.

Shane

this class was a great refresher to many things learned a long time ago

Rated 5 out of 5
October 28, 2015

As an experienced captain on offshore supply vessels, and 25 years since training on tugs, this class was a great refresher to many things learned a long time ago. Was questioning if I should have taken the course, and at the end of the day , found it was well worth it!! Thanks Capt. Pat, Matt and Paul!

Capt Fred

Can't say enough positive things about the entire experience.

Rated 5 out of 5
October 27, 2015

Capt. Pat was very professional, excellent instructor. Highly recommend. Boat Owner Matt. Also great and helpful. Paul was quite, but efficient. Can’t say enough positive things about the entire experience. My suggestion is don’t wait another minute, sign up ASAP. You will never regret this. Guaranteed!!!

Eric

As many of you know trying to get a completed TOAR can be difficult.

Rated 5 out of 5
August 20, 2015

The class was informative, reasonably priced and it was great to find a place to complete my TOAR. The crew was great and it was nice to get the hands on experience. Thanks for the providing this class.

Capt. Mike

A TOAR class like this is rare to come by (trust me I looked) especially at this price

Rated 5 out of 5
August 19, 2015

Great class. Couldn’t get the hands on experience like that anywhere else. The instructors really know what they are doing and willingly offer advice and tricks to get around different situations. Highly recommend to anyone who needs to get their TOAR.

Matt

No substitute for hands on learning

Rated 5 out of 5
August 6, 2015

I just finished the TOAR and I can tell you that the quality of experience was greater than my expectations. The tug Cornell was the most user friendly piece of floating machinery I ever driven. The instructor, Capt Pat, blew me away with his knowledge and teaching method employed. Honestly , there is no substitute for hands on learning. You can spend your money on expensive boring classes, and you will never know how maneuver a tug . Cut your loses and call Diamond Marine!!
Overall I rate this experience 10 out of 10 possible.
Thank you Diamond Marine!

Adrian Puenary

Great Value!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 30, 2015

The entire Crew at Diamond Services, were more than helpful, and accommodating, the TOAR experience was of great Value! Thank you

Greg Pavlich

Money well Spent!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 8, 2015

Money well Spent! Sam and Matt made this very fun and informative. The old tug Cornell is awesome. Handles great. I had a good time and a very solid intro to the basics of tug operations. I’m excited about crossing over into the towing industry. Thanks guys for this unique opportunity to acquire the credentials to advance my career.

Todd

Great organization and great people.

Rated 5 out of 5
May 25, 2015

I cannot say enough positive things about Diamond Marine. Sam, Matt, and the crew went out of their way and worked long hours to help me get my TOAR signed off. They worked with my schedule to help me get what I needed before I went offshore again. Excellent customer service. I was very impressed with every aspect of their organization. If you want to get a TOAR, I would highly recommend them. Thank you Sam, Matt, and crew!

Brad

I wouldn't be where I am today without their help.

Rated 5 out of 5
May 4, 2015

I graduated from a maritime academy and wanted to pursue a career on harbor tugs. However, with only 20 days of time on a towing vessel and no TOAR I was having a difficult time finding a job. Once I completed my TOAR with Sam I was immediately hired by a harbor tug company in the gulf. A few years later as a mate on a brand new z-drive boat I can’t thank Sam, Matt and Paul enough. They are great guys who run a professional and very convenient operation that allows Mariners to advance their careers. I wouldn’t be where I am today without their help.

Lucas Beyl

Great experience!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 27, 2015

I enjoyed my class, on the Cornell. Matt, and Brody, were professional, quick, and got the job done. If you like old boats, this is it. That old 16 cylinder Cleveland engine,
is totally cool. Wish I had more time to sight see around Kingston. There is some great history there.

Steve

The class was great!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 27, 2015

I was a little hesitant in the beginning but the Cornell handled so well that all that was gone in the first two minutes at the wheel!

Michael G

The course was very good and total hands on.

Rated 5 out of 5
April 27, 2015

I was never so pleased to get this class with Diamond marine. Sam, Matt and the crew were great. The course was very good and total hands on. From the beginning to the end. The captains have a lot of patience and knowledge. The crew was was helpfull and the experience was great. If you are trying to get your towing endorsement call Sam and he will take care of you guys.

Cooper Hayden

Thanks again for your crew and staff

Rated 5 out of 5
April 24, 2015

Great instructions and equipment looking forward to learning more about a field of tugs thanks again for your crew and staff

Andy

have been recommending the class to everyone

Rated 5 out of 5
March 18, 2015

I took the TOAR class back on October 16th, 2014. It was a great class! I learned a lot and had a lot of fun. The DE was great, and so was the vessel! I have been recommending the class to everyone. This is by far the most convenient way to get your TOAR signed off!

Charles

Well worth it!

Rated 5 out of 5
January 22, 2015

I had heard that Diamond Marine Services’ TOAR class was a convenient and thorough way to get my Towing Endorsement and I was not disappointed. Each member in my particular class received individual attention and I could not have been happier with my experience. Well worth it!

Peter

This class was well worth the time, the effort and the money but getting it done in one day, is priceless.

Rated 5 out of 5
November 20, 2014

Getting firsthand experience docking, hooking and recovering a barge Diamond Marine Services is the best option for the money. Thank you to Captain Pat for his time and patience conveying his knowledge to those who want and needed this to advance in tugboat industry. Thank you to Paul and Matt, who secured the lines on the coldest November day and never complained. This class was well worth the time, the effort and the money but getting it done in one day, is priceless.

Ed Duffy

Diamond Marine is hands down one of the best operations I have dealt with in my career.

Rated 5 out of 5
October 24, 2014

Diamond Marine is hands down one of the best operations I have dealt with in my career. I HIGHLY recommend this class to anyone needing to complete a TOAR. Sam and Matt are absolute professionals and CORNELL is an outstanding training platform. Diamond Marine was early to answer an emergent need in an industry that was unprepared to deal with the TOAR regulations. This program is perfect for anyone with tug experience but with a lack of access to a DE. It is also perfect for any company looking to bring new talent to the wheelhouse of their boats. The structured training environment allows for totally focused evaluation of potential mates without putting additional strain on a crew and company equipment. Also, for operations that don’t often tow in all modes (as is required on a full TOAR), Diamond’s program allows for all three modes (towing, pushing, and hipped up) to be utilized and transitioned between in a single day of operation.
Master, AGT (Oceans), MOTV, First Class Pilot

John Kinlein

Wanna say some nice things about us? Please submit a review…we really appreciate it!!